Grief and Loss

Grief and Loss

Everyone will experience loss at some point in their lives—whether it is of a family member or a friend, it is unfortunately bound to happen. Grief is a natural reaction to any form of loss. Grief encompasses a range of feelings from deep sadness to extreme anger. The process of processing extreme loss can differ for every person. For most people, the grief process depends on a person’s background, beliefs, and relationship to who was lost.

Researchers have developed many models for grief. The most familiar model is the five stages of grief. The Five Stages of Grief consist of:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Everyone grieves differently. For some, they only experience a few stages of grief—for others they experience all five. Some move on quickly, some can take years to move on from their grief. The counselors at Psychology & Counseling Associates are here to help everyone move and process their emotions throughout the grieving process. During grief counseling we help clients move through the stages at their own pace, and allow them a safe space to do so.

If you have experienced great loss–whether that be the death of a loved one, a breakup, or an ended friendship–we hope you allow us to help you process this season of life.